SYB Scholarships

Each year, Stoneham Youth Basketball awards two $1000 scholarships. They are named in the memory of Ron Davis and George Ward. These two gentlemen gave countless hours to coaching teams, contributing their time and efforts into establishing a successful program.

These two scholarships are awarded to a boy and girl who are graduating from high school. To be eligible, the applicant must be continuing their education at either college or technical school. All applicants must have participated in the SYB program for at least 3 years.

All applicants must submit an essay on the subject....

These essays must be submitted by a date in late spring that will be advertised on the SYB website and the Stoneham Independent each year.

For more info, contact Stoneham Youth Basketball at

Essays can be sent to:
Stoneham Youth Basketball
Scholarship Committee
P.O. Box 80390
Stoneham, MA 02180

Or emailed to

Past Recipients
1997 Amy Gardner Ryan Davis
1998 Brooke Harrington  Don Fortenbacher
1999 Colleen Lacey  Nick Peretti
2000 April Harrington  Ed Silva
2001 Danielle Fortenbacher Mike Semenza
2002 Casey Prior Chris Serrano
2003 Alyssa Wantman David Harrington
2004 Marissa Forman Jason Feldman
2005 Kayla McKinnon Nick Burke
2006 Ashley Corbett Michael Secondini
2007 Rachel Cail Anthony Preziosi
2008 Alexandra Yerxa James Dunne
2009 Catherine Doherty Michael Garozzo
2010 Julie Dabenigno Eric Barton
2011 Alison Brennan Christopher Ventola
2012 Jill Macura EJ Pignone
2013  Marianna Lacolla Tyler Malone
 2014  Grace Macura and Stephanie Bramante Joseph LaRiccia  and Greg Hopp